BEAVER LUMBER (4 min read)

Beaver lumber back in its day was a nice little hardware store in Canada. Founded in 1906 it was our fourth largest building supply store, at one time it was the largest supplier of lumber. They had all the essential materials to fix or build just about anything. Molson Canadian or Molson, the Montreal-based brewing giant, bought Beaver Lumber for $40 million in 1972. A brewery owned a lumber yard ? Now that’s diversification but, In the year 2000 Beaver Lumber was acquired by the chain to Home Hardware for $68 million in 1999.

As a child I remember going to Beaver Lumber with my parents to pick up paint and other building materials for projects around our house, of which I had zero involvement as I was pretty young. Around the age of 3 where this particular story takes a crappy turn. I was quite the handful as a toddler, or so I was told I’m still waiting for the iPhone footage for confirmation. Oh? So no footage ? Sorry in that case I don’t believe you.

Except that I was told by almost every aunt and uncle that I was a terror, into everything all the time and constantly had to be watched or I would find something to occupy my attention. So as we wandered the Beaver Lumber I felt a Poo coming on.

“Mom? I have to poo” I said. My mom choosing a paint color with her preoccupied voice said “yes, little Gordie right away”

Well my mind already started to wander and look for something to do. I walked away and started to play with the hammers and screw drivers. Then I noticed the washrooms so I decided I’d go, after all I’m a big boy now. I pull my pants down and jump on the toilet. I hear my mom shouting for me.

“ I’m just poopin, like a big boy” I shout back.

She comes flying around the corner “what are you doing ???”

“Poopin” I sheepishly reply

“HOLY SHHH$&#%%@&$“

She gasps

And....... that’s the last time we went to that location of Beaver Lumber. She grabbed my hand and we ran out of the store.

Thanks for reading ❤️ Until the next one

➡️NEXT BLOG

⬅️PREVIOUS BLOG

⬅️ MY PRECIOUS 🐦 a child hood story

❤️ MY FAVOURITE BLOG