GONE, BUT NOT FORGOTTEN (7 min read)

Today is Wordless Wednesday but it’s also Remembrance Day. So Wordless will have to wait until next week. November 11, 102 years ago on a Monday the First World War ended. It ended on November 11, 1918, at 11 a.m. it ended on the eleventh hour of the eleventh day of the eleventh month. Today we remember the sacrifice of our military. In Canada on November 11 we remember those who gave the ultimate sacrifice. I’m so proud of the military men and women who fight for our freedoms in the US 🇺🇸 and Canada 🇨🇦 and let’s not forget abroad in their respective country’s. It takes a real special individual to lay their life on the line for their county and people. Anyone in the military has my upmost respect and admiration. The sacrifices these individuals make

The Second World War ended on September 2 1945. My Grandfather, Peter, was involved in that war, for the 6 years prior he gave a part of him for the freedoms of others. He was in the Princess Patricia’s Light Infantry. He was an infantryman stationed in Manitoba, Canada. He got the call in 1939 and suited up for war against Hitler.

World War II began in Europe on September, 1st 1939. The Parliament of Canada declared war between Canada and Germany on September 10, 1939. The same day war was declared, the Patricias were mobilized for active service and my Grandfather was off to war at the age of 27 to fight for his country. Peter or bumpy as we called him, more on that later, just a young man with a wife and 3 kids at home.

-Nelly and Peter (Grandma and Grandpa)

There was some close calls for him in the 6 years that followed. Sadly he lost a lot of his friends and buddies in the war. He was riding the London train and forgot his jacket on train when they got off. Well the next day the train station was bombed and they found his jacket but no body? My grandma was notified that he was MIA-missing in action. For 6 weeks she had no clue if he was alive or dead. Then she had word he was alive and was very happy.

August 19 1942- the battle of Dieppe. If you haven’t heard of this well let me tell you. Some will tell you it was one of the great Canadian failures in the war, others say it taught us valuable lessons that eventually led to victory. Maybe with out that lesson we would have never had the tools to win. But It was basically a slaughter for allied forces.

On a crystal clear summer night. Over 200 ships slipped secretly, or so they thought, across the English Channel hoping to surprise the Germans at Dieppe. But as they were just pulling up to shore and about to hit the ground a small German convoy spotted them and alerted the German defenses. As the ships approached the Dieppe beach at 5 am it was clear that they had lost the element of surprise and lives were about to be lost. The very moment boats were on the beach and soldiers feet were in the sand. The Germans opened fire mowing down men and women, bullets, mortors and bombs going off. When the dust settled. Of the 5000 soldiers 1500 were dead, injured or became POW- prisoners of war. By the grace of god my Grandfather was not there, on August 18, the day before,he hurt himself in a Motorcycle crash. Not serious but he was out of commission for alitte while. He often talked that this was the reason he came home alive, thank god he did or I wouldn’t be here.

After the War Peter now aged 33 came home to a happy wife and his 3 children. My Grandma Nelly and Peter had 2 more children both girls. One of them was my mom, Jane and my Auntie Dawn. Two pivotal women in my life and both were very close sisters untill my mom passed.

He spent his next 40 years, loving family and worked at Canada Packers as a meat inspector. I have some fond memories of him. He passed when I was just 5 years old, Now I’m not sure if they are my memories or I’ve just heard the stories so much that it created a memory. My favourite is I remember sitting on the arm rest in his 1970’s car as we drove around town often to get ice cream. No car seats in those days.

My Grandma would give me her powder puff, not sure if that’s what it was called but ladies used it to powder their nose and face. I used to like playing with it and powdering my nose 😂😂 Bumpy would come in and see it and holler

“JESUS CHRIST NELLY ! Don’t give him that your going to turn him gay”

Oh Grandpa it doesn’t work that way 😂

If your a subscriber check out why we called him bumpy and more great pictures but , if not skip your bagel today and sign up for Coil HERE. So many great creators to browse and you also get to check out Cinnamon Video !!

But as always, thank you for reading ❤️

Continue reading with a Coil membership.