LIFE OF A LONELY CONTRACTOR ( 6 min read)

It’s like private club, we are truly cut from different cloth. No one knows the life, the early hours, the late hours, the sacrifices, the work truly involved except another contractor. It’s a lonely life, Justin Bieber’s song Lonely comes to mind. Well In the song he talks about what a lonely life. The world flashes by, while he works and works... I am not famous or rich but, No one knows what it’s like unless your in da club, the contractor club.

https://youtu.be/xQOO2xGQ1Pc

Normally in the working world one leaves work and never thinks of it again untill there next shift. Weather it’s the next day or on Monday after 2 days off? 2 days off what’s that?

Ok ok ... kind of dramatic Gord

I know but to get my point across I kind of had to be. We are a hard working class, working for people who can’t do the work them selves. Working in homes we could never afford ourselves and building magnificent dreams of our clients into a mouth watering realities. Keep clients happy, even when it’s impossible. Even when it costs us money, we do everything we can. Sometimes even getting treated like “just a contractor” a scum of the earth contractor.

Well at least our own houses are so beautiful and Reno’d with all the free labor you only need to buy materials. I’m pretty sure if you listen real close, SHHHH, listen ...... you hear that ? you hear Lee die from laughter? I do 😂

It’s like an auto mechanic never working on his own vehicle. Well contractors are kind of the same. We are always working and helping others, that our own houses get put on hold quite often. Plus do you want to come home from your job and keep working at home on the exact same thing you did all day ? I think not.

The phone rings........

Emergency call at night.

Friends needing a hand.

Family needing a hand.

Friends of friends needing a hand.

Now don’t get me wrong I love to help and save people thousands on there Reno’s and repairs. As I get older I realize my time is finally more important that money. Even though I know it, I still have a hard time saying no. Most times it’s only a 1-2 job and it’s only 2 days right ?? So I do it. I saved friends/family thousands and thousands of dollars. Take this Reno I’m doing on Shop Saturday now for friends, it’s a $35,000-$40,000 job all day long every week. And I’m doing it for a fifth of that. And that makes me happy.

TIME I HAVE LEFT

I already did a blog on time and what it’s worth HERE, so this is just how much I have left ... Like grains of sand falling through the hour glass, so too are my days of freedom. Freedom to sleep in on a weekend, freedom to finish my own projects around the house. Plain and simple, days of freedom to do as I please. If I live to be 70 I only have 2700 more days off, now that’s if I get 2 days off a week. HA, I’m such a dreamer, 8 days off a month .... We can take that 2700 days off and divide it by 2 = 1350 , that’s 4 days a month off. Even at that it might be a stretch this year.

I WANT TO PUT A HUGE THANK OUT TO ALL OF OUR CONTRACTORS FAMILIES AND SUPPORTING US IN OUR CRAZY WORK LIFE. WITHOUT OUR WONDERFUL SPOUSES NONE OF THIS WOULD EVER BE POSSIBLE. I HOPE WE ALL GET SOME MUCH NEEDED FAMILY TIME AT CHRISTMAS ❤️

If your a subscriber check out how this story ends, if not skip your bagel today and sign up for Coil HERE. So many great creators to browse and you also get to check out Cinnamon Video !!

Continue reading with a Coil membership.